IT’S NOT YOUR FAULT

What if the very words you need to hear from Jesus are these words: It’s not your fault.

They say you are your own worst enemy. Well, I might just be the queen of that phrase sometimes. Even to the point of questioning Christ’s love for me, I tend to loathe the sin that consumes my very being. Fear, self-pity, pride, apathy, complacency, doubt… I despise them all, and yet they are the very things that plague me. I am a product of sinful nature. And yet in the midst of my despair and longing for peace, I lay on my bed and heard His still small voice whisper to me: It’s not your fault.

In an instant I clung to those words and repeated it to myself over and over again. It’s not your fault, it’s not your fault, it’s not your fault. In my desire to be who Christ’s calls me to be and in my failure to even come close, Jesus whispers to me: It’s not your fault. And it isn’t.

I was born into a distorted relationship with God. I was born already a slave to my sin. Since the fall of man, God has desperately attempted to restore that relationship. The Flood, Sodom and Gomorah, convenants, renewal, and then the ultimate act of love- Jesus. All are acts of a God who loves us with a passion none on this earth can imitate… in an attempt to restore what was broken. And it is in Christ that we have hope. Christ is our redemption. He set an example for us in love, and we may emulate Him – though we won’t be perfect. “It is for the unrighteous that I have come.” Through belief in His atonement, we may be saved and may attain the relationship God originally intended for us. Freedom. A relationship that is unashamed, naked, free, and good.

While on this earth, Paul completely understood the nature of sin and its destruction to the human soul. I find comfort and freedom in his words:

“We know that the law is spiritual; but I am unspiritual, sold as a slave to sin. I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do. And if I do what I do not want to do, I agree that the law is good. As it is, it is no longer I myself who do it, but it is sin living in me. I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do- this I keep on doing. Now if I do what I do not want to do, it is no longer I who do it, but it is sin living in me that does it. So I find this law at work: When I want to do good, evil is right there with me. For in my inner being I delight in God’s law; but I see another law at work in the members of my body, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin at work within my members. What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body of death? Thanks be to God – through Jesus Christ our Lord!” Romans 7:14-25

It’s not your fault. Live free and hope for Heaven! Not for death, but for the completely restored relationship that is waiting for you upon belief in the Lord Jesus Christ.

His love is real, abundant, true, and good. He loves you and He loves me. May it be a truth that penetrates our hearts and manifests itself in our lives.

Blessed Be His Name

3 thoughts on “IT’S NOT YOUR FAULT

  1. es says:

    hi annie,

    i stop by hear every now and then. i echo whats already been said in both comments, except the date part seeing as i won’t be doing that. also i enjoyed the article you put up a few posts back. definiately something that more people should consider. i hope and pray that you continue to be well and that your journey of faith and life continues to bring healing, restoration and peace into your life and the lives of those you are in community with. peace my friend.

Leave a Reply

