First Day of School

I walked to school this morning feeling like a kindergartner. Well, not really. More like a senior in college and this is my last first day of school at UCLA ever (I’ve only had two). Anyhow, after waking up at 6am for a morning climb with Alana , my roommate made me a breakfast of eggs, ham, cheese, and tomatoes (just like Jackie!) and 5 of us girls bustled around the apartment getting ready for school. I threw my backpack on and faced the long walk that eventually leads me to Public Policy (far end of the campus). While walking I was listening to David Crowder and thinking (as I often do on my way to and fro class)… thinking about that moment, this year, what next year holds, where m heart is, where the power of the Holy Spirit is taking me, etc… so many thoughts.

Last night I couldn’t go to sleep because I was asking God questions about my life. I’m not sure that I necessarily received answers thus far, but I asked them nonetheless and finally wrote until I fell asleep on the couch in the living room. I think that the questions I have about my life are still running around and it sort of excites me. The fear of the future has become an exciting process of discerning the next step. And then I stop and think to myself; “Annie. It’s just your first day of school.”

That means I get to learn about American women writers, Paul of Tarsus, and English lit from 1660 to some other time period for 10 weeks… and in just 30 more weeks of instruction with 8 more classes I will be clothed in my cap and gown with a diploma in my hand. Just thought you should know that.

2 thoughts on “First Day of School

  1. Katie Mitchell says:

    wierd how we’re seniors all over again…..i remember going on my first day of school last week and thinking…”oh man….this is really it….yikes!” and then being blessed by God’s peace that i don’t have to have it figured out and usually when i think i’ve figured it out i’ve only fooled myself into believing that my plans are better than God’s….we’re seniors, but in all reality we’re just another step forward in this thing called life… nothing has changed…God is still in control and is still faithful. i love you friend!

  2. rise up says:

    Annie,
    I hope that this year will be the best one yet (as senior year should be) and that everything you are doing would be a blessing to those around you (without you even knowing it, for those are the best kind). I am excited for you, and for this new time in your life. Peace.

Leave a Reply

