croon me away bing…

My good friend Katie and her boyfriend Preston are visiting from the mainland during this Christmas season. Naturally, living in Hawaii necessitates a viewing of the film, White Christmas, so that we might only hope for the soft flakes to appear in our dreams.

This year is the first that I have ever watched White Christmas, and, it being JD’s favorite Christmas movie, we have now watched it twice.

And I have to confess… I have a giant crush on Bing Crosby. Every time I hear that deep, soft voice singing about the White Christmas he’s dreaming about, I begin to melt like Frosty the Snowman in a greenhouse (we’ve also watched Frosty this season). Katie shares my sentiments, “Oh Bing and your blue eyes,” she says as the glow from the tv reflects on her sun-kissed cheeks.

sjff_03_img1026.jpg

I was confessing my love affair with Bing Crosby’s crooning voice and blue eyes to JD, who understood perfectly well that this crush is inevitable, when I learned that Bing perhaps wasn’t so great a guy. So, if you know about his lifestyle, please don’t judge me for having a crush on Bing ;). He is a fine young man on my television screen.

Leave a Reply

