Waa Waa Waa Waa 140 bpm

Hmm, don’t really know how to spell what we heard today – though it wasn’t a baby’s cry, as you might otherwise read in the title. This morning JD, myself, my mom-in-law, and sis-in-law piled into the doctor’s office to check in on the baby – almost like a first audible introduction to little meatloaf. We heard the heartbeat for the first time and I might just say that hearing the little pounding was cooler than an ultrasound. The doctor kept recounting because meatloaf was quite active in my belly – but once the baby was still enough to get an accurate reading, Dr. Yazawa recorded 140 beats per minute, and almost immediately reassured us that you cannot, in fact, determine the baby’s sex by the heartbeat – so for all of you who are thinking boy, I am still holding out for the girl. Of course, we have absolutely no idea until meatloaf shows his/her – um whole body (guess we can’t tell by its face huh?). The doctor says everything looks great and that hopefully my morning sickness should ease up in the next week or so. Crossing every finger, toe, arm, and leg that it does…

8 thoughts on “Waa Waa Waa Waa 140 bpm

  1. Barbie says:

    Aubrey’s heartbeat was always around 140 too. I remember how some people were just so sure of what I was having, be it boy or girl. One lady in the doggy park even said, “Oh it’s a boy, right?!” and when we told her we weren’t finding out she said, “Oh, I’m so sorry I ruined the surprise.” 140…hmmm…I’m pretty sure its a ….healthy baby 🙂

  2. our babies heartbeat has always been 150 or 153, very fast so everyone thought it was a girl….wrong! we’ve got a little boy on the way! so, i’m certain there’s not telling, just ole wives tales…can’t wait to hear more about your pregnancy!

  3. i still don’t know what to say about meatloaf? I wish I could tell you the pretty/violent metaphors that dance in my head whenever you say that, though totally inappropriate.

  4. anniegroves says:

    Barbie – too funny! I can’t believe someone actually said that to you!!! So 140 runs in the genes huh?

    Amy – Congratulations!!! A boy! How fun! Good ole wives tales. gotta love them.

    Cait – but really, I mean come on. It’s me and JD. And everytime I look at the ultrasound – it just looks like a meatloaf. My mom always made great meatloaf so I’m ok with it. Plus it’s original. And you can tell me over the phone, but good call on not sharing on the web 😉 love you – miss you

  5. Joy Dravecky says:

    Annie-
    Hi. It is JD’s cousin, Joy. I just found your blog today and am giving myself a time limit on your site. I could sit and read back entries for the next two days. You are a phenomenal writer and have mastered being witty and deep at the same time. I would like to talk to you about a book project that I am currently working on, and would love to have your input. Please email me your email address, but be forwarned that you may get a novel back from me….I’m clearly so excited to chat and share 🙂 joyanna.d@gmail.com.
    Love, Joy
    P.S. Baby belly looks great, you look beautiful and I’m praying about the whole puking thing!

  6. Annie-
    Let me introduce myself. 🙂 My name is Julie Lau(Wright). We met once or twice when we were a lot younger. I babysat for you and your brother once. My parents live around the corner from yours. I am also good friends with Barbie and Justin Thompson. So…New Year’s day I was driving home from my parents house when my husband stops his car, gets out and points to the Univ. of Hawaii tent in your parents yard. He was so excited to see a house supporting UH. That’s not something you see in Bako. I called Barbie to find out about it. She said I should check out your blog and email you.
    Sorry this comment is more like a novel.
    🙂 Julie

  7. anniegroves says:

    Joy – you are much, much too kind! I would love to chat with you about your project – sounds great! I’m glad you found my blog – perhaps you should start one too? 🙂
    Julie – Of course! I remember you! Wow small world huh? Yes yes the family had to support the UH – despite their crushing loss! Did your husband go to UH?

  8. No, Brent went to San Francisco for college (which is how we ended up meeting). We are both jealous about the malasadas in your newest blog. My favorite are long johns from Napoleans Bakery. Brent’s family lives in Kaimuki, which is close to Leonards Bakery. Have you had malasadas from there?

Leave a Reply

