Happy Birthday Daddy!

I’ve been thinking of fatherhood lately. On my nightstand sits Donald Miller’s “To Own a Dragon,” his account of growing up without a dad. The metaphor of God as Father simultaneously runs through my mind as I wrestle and think through the imagery of God… JD and I discuss parenting a lot lately, often giving accolades to our own parents for the way they raised us…

My own dad’s birthday is today. Not yet fifty and almost a grandpa, dad celebrates another year of life (yes, this makes him 49 today). Wish I was there to celebrate with you daddy… I hope this post will suffice for a birthday card sent across waters đŸ™‚

Dad,

Is it too cheesy to say that I think you’re the best dad in the whole world? Whenever I think of you and think of ways to describe you, I instantly revert to the age of 5 or 6 and picture us riding in the pickup on the way to obtain the firewood permit… I would hold a roll of shock tarts and you a roll of bottle caps, and we’d sing at the top of our lungs, “Gimme a gimme a gimme a red neck girl!” Or I imagine us on the ski lift as you instruct Patrick and I to stay hydrated and eat chocolate Powerbars for nourishment. I don’t actually like the taste of powerbars, but because you encouraged us to eat them, I still love to pick up a chocolate, gold-wrapped piece of cardboard at the gas station.

The other day I told JD that I loved the consistency you gave our family growing up. I never had to guess when you would come home from work. You must have left somewhat early because I always seem to remember you walking in the door just after five o’ clock. Thanks for that. I also remember eating cereal with you in the mornings before school. Thanks for that too. You work hard to support your family, but I never felt abandoned or like work came first.

I also admire the way you run your company. Now that I’ve entered the real world and have friends who work for business America, I think the way you pursue business is exceptionally like Jesus… We always had money, but we never loved it or hung on to it too tight. Thanks for that too.

I know I talk to mom on the phone more often than with you – I guess it’s just a girl thing – but I want you to know that I admire you in every way possible. I don’t think there’s anyone in the world I look up to more than you… nor anyone in the world have I learned as much from as you. You set an incredible example of godliness in the way you live – in marriage, parenting, leadership, work, etc. I just thought you should know that.

Thanks for being my daddy and loving me the way you do. I can’t wait for our little baby to meet you!

love,

your b0-bannie

dsc_0421.jpg

One thought on “Happy Birthday Daddy!

  1. Emily says:

    I linked to you from Barbie’s blog and my goodness, this post left me in tears! What a beautiful legacy your Daddy has left!!

Leave a Reply

