solids

This morning we ventured into the world of solid foods. “Runny” foods might be a more appropriate term. Poi soaked in breast milk and stirred to the consistency of Elmer’s glue is hardly solid. Yesterday we put a tsp. of poi in her bottle, but she still nursed every couple hours and woke up hungry twice in the middle of the night. After feeding her the second time, JD grumbled in his sleep, “we’re giving her poi by the spoonful tomorrow.” I agreed.

Depending on who you talk to, babies begin eating solids around 4-6 months usually, though some start sooner, others later. I knew our baby wouldn’t make it til 6 months (shh don’t tell La Leche League). She is incredibly active and achieves major milestones fairly early (rolling over at two weeks, then at three, and consistenltly from 6 weeks on for instance). I look wistfully on as mothers carry their sleeping infants on their chest and then can’t help but laugh as mine throws a fit if she is not facing the world when carried in the sling. Calorie burning aside, miss Elianna is no small babe πŸ˜‰

The past few days have been really interesting. Not hard, necessarily, but different. She nurses nearly around the clock and is fussy after she drains me. Concerned I’m not producing enough, I pump between feedings and do my best to drink lots of fluids. She has discovered how to roll onto her belly from her back and continually wakes up from naps and during the night because she has rolled over and isn’t sure she likes to be on her belly any more. I’m not really sure what to do nor sure that anything needs to be done necessarily, other than the obvious implementation of solids.

Enter month four of parenting.

I have decided, for now, not to consult the books except for a quick glance over in the solid foods section of my pediatrics books. This is very liberating. I feel a strong pull to connect with my own mothering instincts. JD and I discuss options and possibilites, and then proceed to trial and error.

As I fed my daughter this morning, enjoying every second of her new faces and grunts, a small piece of sadness waved over me as I realized I will no longer be her sole source for food. I so treasure nursing my daughter and bonding with her over her meals. While I plan to nurse for several more months, it will continually be different as new foods are introduced with increasing frequency. I’m sure my parents are reading this thinking, “just wait until your kid up and moves to Hawaii and then starts having kids of her own,” and I wouldn’t blame them. But as JD reminded me this morning, we’re given children just to give them right back.

Funny how something as little and runny as poi causes me to step back and stand in awe of this entire process.

3 thoughts on “solids

  1. Aunt Marti says:

    I’m so jealous! Poi was recommended as a first food for Kelsey – but where do you get poi on the mainland? Go for the poi girl!

Leave a Reply

