Boundaries. #1

#1 Boundary for social media in my life… so as not to wreck my soul again (seriously. Remember when I used to read? And paint? And EXERCISE?!)…

Facebook on Tuesdays and Fridays.

I recognize Facebook is a valuable tool in ministry, and I LOVE that my newsfeed is filled with our students quiz results and how many children they are destined to have (the consensus is 2, by the way), but I am also incredibly aware of my ability to spend hours looking at a friend of a friend of a friend’s brand new baby. This simply should not be. So for now, I’m going to facebook on Tuesdays and Fridays, which are really strategic days for me in terms of student ministries (beginning of the work week and well – Friday is just a good day).

By the way, as much as it pains me, I will also limit my iphone facebooking to Tuesdays and Fridays. Because sometimes my husband would prefer I talk to HIM rather than scroll through statuses while driving over the Pali. Imagine that!

4 thoughts on “Boundaries. #1

  1. Barbie says:

    This is so me! I think I’ll have to limit my days too. Blogger is more of an issue for me, but I need to choose certain days. I don’t have an iPhone b/c I know it would be an issue. 🙂

  2. dbakerps15 says:

    Annie, I appreciate what you’ve said about boundaries. I know I need to be more disciplined about Facebook and such, especially because it takes time away from the kids. Now, once you set a boundary, how do you KEEP it? 🙂
    Corrie (Jill’s sister-in-law)

  3. anniegroves says:

    Barbie – I know! The Iphone is GREAT in so many ways, but I finally took twitter off my app and I only check facebook twice a week now. It’s hard, but SO necessary. Now I need to figure out blogger…

    Corrie – Here’s to hoping announcing my boundaries on the www will help out huh? Haha it’s so hard sometimes. Especially after a hard day with babies and ALL I WANT TO DO is veg online for a few hours.

Leave a Reply

