Well THAT was the best thing I’ve done for myself in a while.

Last night was date night, which is really code for “this is our special night and we will NOT make any other plans tonight.” We often cook something yummy or grab a bite out and then nestle in to a movie at home. When JD asked what I wanted to do last night, I promptly said, “Join the Y.”

We live in the same parking lot as the YMCA. Literally. For the past 2 and a half years we’ve drooled over the possibility of actually lifting weights and swimming for exercise (other than the ocean of course), but it’s never been in our budget. Thankfully, the Y has instilled a new “Membership for all” deal where your income determines how much you pay. We’re in the purple. And we can finally afford the Y.

This morning I trekked all the way across the parking lot and worked out in a gym for the first time in three years. And I realized, as I listened to my fun pop music while on the elliptical machine, that this is the kindest thing I have done for myself in a very long time. Stress melted away. Sweat beaded up on my forehead and I was thankful.

One thought on “Well THAT was the best thing I’ve done for myself in a while.

  1. Joy says:

    I love it! You and I both know that life with a one year old (especially when they are heavy) is a workout in itself. But it is ohhhhh so nice to steal even 20 or 30 minutes to work up a sweat and pretend that life is normal again 🙂

Leave a Reply

