Hard Pregnancies

I have a total of EIGHT close friends/family members who are pregnant right now. EIGHT! Most are due in August, a couple in March (hmm some people were VERY thankful). Of those eight, I think only one of them has had a really difficult time with nausea… she would be my cousin.

THANKS GRANDMA!

…………….

The conversation is the same almost every time:

Me: How are you feeling?!

Dear Preggo: pauses. stammers a second. Wellll… I feel really great! I didn’t want to tell you because I know how sick you get when you’re pregnant… but I haven’t gotten any of that! I AM a little tired though…

Me: FACEPUNCH.

Just kidding. TOTALLY JUST KIDDING! Um hello? Most of them are on the mainland, punching them in the face is virtually impossible.

………………

In all honesty I am not bothered one bit when a friend has an easy pregnancy. I am very very very happy for them. Sincerely. Cross my heart hope to die. Truly ecstatic! !!!

As much as I loathe UNlove being pregnant for all the reasons you can read on my blog Fall 07 – June 08 and Summer 09 – March 10, my pregnancies are way easier than many. I have friends who are bedrest-bound the ENTIRE time (how much do THEY want to punch me in the face for skiing 7 months pregnant?).

Some have it easy, some have it hard.

I do know this:

For me, as both pregnancies rounded corners week 7 and 8 and 12 and 14 and 18 and 22 with puke being a given part of the day (ok ok, with Claire it was much more intense, but I DID stop vomiting daily after 14 weeks or so. El kept me going though)… I stopped asking God to take away the nausea and began asking for grace to get through it.

And He did.

Parenting lesson #1: We’re not supposed to do this on our own.

I carry that with me every time I JUST. WANT. TO. SLEEP. and PLEASE. GET. THAT. TOOTH. OUT. and WHY. IS. SHE. STILL. THROWING. A. FIT.!?!

Lord, I need your grace.

……………

p.s. not pregnant. not even close. in case you were wondering…

3 thoughts on “Hard Pregnancies

  1. Jill says:

    AMEN to parenting lesson #1. I keep having to learn it over and over again. Wouldn’t it be nice if lessons stayed learned? But I’m too stubborn for that.

    And, just a sidenote: you’re hilarious. That is all.

  2. Karen says:

    Who are your preggo friends?? I’m due in august too and am curious :). I bet I know at least one of them, whose blog I “found” you through, but I’m always on the lookout for others who are in the same timeframe as me! This is my first and I have no doubt I’m going to need all the grace all the time! 🙂

  3. Yeah…. It was really hard tough experience for me when my wife got bedrest-bound the entire pregnancy period the first time. I had to do all the house chore including cooking! She just loved my cooking and nothing else..

Leave a Reply

