chooooosing gratitude… [or choosing to choose gratitude]

Our refrigerator is busted. We’re keeping milk in the non-freezer and have dumped all sorts of gross smells down the garbage disposal. There is never a convenient time for your refrigerator to go out. Particularly when it takes two weeks for a repairperson to come out. But when you have two little ones that drink milk all day and thrive on frozen veggies and dino nuggets? I mean come on.

Thankfully we live at church with a kitchen and two refrigerators.

The kids are sick again. AGAIN. !!!! We had two days of health before picking up another bug at a conference in town. This makes me want to pound my fists in the carpet and kick the walls down. I hate being confined to the house, I miss sleeping through the night, and my poor babies’ faces kill me. Not to mention missing out on life in community, hiring babysitters and being forced to spend date night inside.

Thanks to the sickness, we’ve almost completely potty trained Ellie.

Claire is teething pretty hard.

But she’s really cuddly…

On top of everything else I’ve mentioned, we have a camping trip with all our teens this weekend. Menus to plan with food to buy, Med release forms to organize, parents to call, lessons to prepare, and lots of prayer to pray.

Thankfully, last Sunday was Communion Sunday, and our youth group joins the Body for the service and this Wednesday is Capture The Flag with little prep required.

Read this the other day:

“Offer to God a sacrifice of thanksgiving, and perform your vows to the Most High, and call upon me in the day of trouble; I will deliver you, and you shall glorify me.” Psalm 50:14, 15

And really? Well, I’m thankful for the new mercies each day brings, even when the kids are sick and our fridge is busted.

One thought on “chooooosing gratitude… [or choosing to choose gratitude]

  1. Fook says:

    dryer gone, refrigerator out. Pretty soon you’ll have to milk your own cows. Time to read Laura Ingalls Wilder for a check on perspective. I am so glad I don’t live in a sod house with a goat on the roof.

Leave a Reply

