17 weeks pregnant

Kids are eating oatmeal and watching Cat in the Hat. I’ll turn off the tv and be a good parent in approx. 17 minutes.

But quickly, a pregnancy update.

I started seeing a midwife this week. I’ve gone the OB route before, but I found some nurse midwives who deliver at the hospital I’m excited to deliver at and are very reputable within the hospital (I’ve got some inside connections!). I instantly loved my experience with the midwife and am so thankful to be decided on our prenatal/delivery care. It’s only taken 17 weeks… !!!

Here I am at 17 weeks and some change. 14 pounds heavier (whaaa?!?!!?) and officially needing maternity pants. I know I’ll lose it all. I’ve lost all my weight and then a considerable amount more with each baby, but this time around has felt… hefty. You can bet I went straight home after my appointment, without stopping for fries, to eat cottage cheese and berries and chicken noodle soup and grapefruit… This kid has my appetite roaring. No joke. Now that I’m mostly not nauseous, I’m trying my best to keep my diet healthy – but kid wants carbs and lots of them. Pasta and cheese, cheese toast, hashbrowns, anything potato, more pasta, more potatoes…. Thankfully my sweet man is on a whole grain, whole wheat kick so the pasta and bread is often the brown kind. But still…

I’m racking my brain for creative ways to keep my body active. Mostly I need to get over being a cold baby and get outside, but it’s soooo cold and I’m soooo cozy inside. Considering this little diddy for the girls and I to try together in the mornings. Meanwhile, my husband is training to be a personal trainer.

We felt baby kicks this week! I’ve had phantom kicks since conception, but last week and this week I’m certain they’re real. JD even felt them yesterday, which I think is the earliest he’s been able to feel them. As I type, baby is bouncing around like my uterus is a trampoline. Please be a mellow baby, please be a mellow baby… Hard to believe we have our 20 week ultrasound in three weeks. I’m currently in a “we’re not going to find out the gender” phase. We’ll see what phase wins in a few weeks.

Cat in the Hat is pau. I’ll try to post a belly photo update soon!

4 Replies to “17 weeks pregnant”

Leave a comment