one little word for 2014 {abide}

IMG_61922013 was very much a whirlwind. A blur of many good things and much prayer ultimately transitioning us back to Hawaii Nei, where we very much feel at home. I do love me a New Year, and my dreamer self goes slightly nuts in January, scrambling for dreams! goals! discipline! all the things! And it takes most of the month to arrive into some semblance of normalcy and focus, at which point I lose most of the crazy and get super excited to give all the things a shot at manifesting into real life.

For the first time in several years, the New Year arrived without questions of, “what’s next?” “what are we doing with our life and how are we getting there?” In New Years past, JD and I found ourselves struggling to find a situation sustainable for our family, frequently crying to the Lord for help and provision and direction. Our needs were always met with much more than we could ever ask for, but for a few years, we found ourselves in seasons of waiting.

It’s not that “we’ve arrived,” here in 2014. But we are home and our livelihood is healthy and sustainable and we are much grateful for God’s favor and guidance to get us here. All that to say this – at the New Year, I was slightly overwhelmed at not needing some big looming need met, but rather an opportunity for simple dreams. Everyday, mundane, liveable dreams for myself and our family.

Enter a text from a dear friend Megan, telling me about One Little Word. As a lover of words, dreams, focus, and goals, I was instantly smitten, and started thinking/praying about a word for 2014.

Aside from my love for our family and the very most important role it gives me in our life stage, I have four distinct passions: writing, ministry, photography, birth. I am also a free spirit who wants to conquer all of the above with much gusto, while still being present and responsible and the primary caregiver of our brood. I know there is a time and a season for pursuing these passions and being a mama of three young ones is not the time to chase all four, simultaneously. I am also not one to be content to let dreams float around without tending. The inside of my head was like a Hawaiian New Year explosion of fireworks trying to figure out what in the world I should pursue and not pursue in 2014.

And then, the word.

Abide.

I was scrambling for a centering of sorts. Longing to dwell and be and rest. Praying for focus and direction when it all became clear in a word. Ultimately, I want 2014 and all the years past it to be about abiding. Staying, dwelling, remaining, being at home in my Savior. He is my source.

Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me. I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing. John 15:4,5

At the end of the day, nothing matters if I will not abide.

Tangibly? Abide means much more than sitting down to a quiet time every day. Honestly, I read my Bible and journal probably 2-3 times a week, give or take. If abiding was about the quiet time, most of us would fail and abiding would look more like duty, less like being at home. And so? I have no tangible way to measure whether or not I am abiding.

The beautiful part of this journey, is that since I chose it as a word, Abide seems to pursue me. After I sent Megan a text saying, “abide,” I sort of left it alone. How in the world you set about a year of abide, is beyond me. But Jesus knows, and his grace is beyond measure and more than we may ever expect. Slowly I am seeing more and more of the word take shape in my life.

Abide with your Lord: let him not be to you as a wayfaring man, that tarrieth for a night, but constrain him, saying, ‘Abide with us, for the day is far spent.’ Hold him, and do not let him go. – Charles Spurgeon

2014, I’m excited about you.

{and in terms of focus outside but mostly within the home… photography and ministry in the form of being a kids min coordinator take the prize. woot!}

Leave a Reply

